About Alpha Chi Sigma

Who We Are

Alpha Chi Sigma is the only national co-educational, professional chemistry fraternity in the United States. We provide the catalyst to form lifelong friendships and connections among those who share a common interest in chemistry and related fields. The fraternity was founded at the University of Wisconsin at Madison in late 1902 by a group of undergraduates who were fellow students in chemistry at that time. The Beta Gamma Chapter of Alpha Chi Sigma was founded on March 30, 1935.


The following Nobel Prize Winners were members of the Beta Gamma Chapter:

Bruce Merrifield, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1984

Glenn T. Seaborg, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1951

Richard Heck, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2010

The purpose of Alpha Chi Sigma is reflected in the Three Objects of the Fraternity, which express the true ideals of all its members:

To Bind

its members with a tie of true and lasting friendship.

To Strive

for the advancement of chemistry both as a science and as a profession.

To Aid

its members by every honorable means in the attainment of their ambitions as chemists throughout their mortal lives.


As a professional fraternity with close ties to the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at UCLA, we are able to host many professional functions. Some of these include, but are not limited to:

Hosting the annual Glenn T. Seaborg Banquet and sponsoring the Glenn T. Seaborg Award.

Hosting a scientific research poster session in conjunction with the annual Glenn T. Seaborg Symposium.

Helping with UCLA's annual Bruin Day by giving advice and information to potential UCLA undergraduates.

If you would like for our chapter to assist with your science outreach project, please contact our Magic Show/Community Service Chair