Synthetic Organic Chemistry

Group News

March 2017

• Celebrating the group’s recent total synthesis of callyspongiolide and Cory’s last weekend in Los Angeles. We wish Cory the very best as he returns home to Switzerland.

January 2017
• Dr. Tristin Rose nominated for a Chancellor's Postdoctoral Award and starts new job at EvoRx in Pasadena. Good luck Tristin!

December 2016
• Research in the Harran Laboratory recognized with the Herbert Newby McCoy Award.

November 2016

Hui Ding's work on DZ-2384 is featured in the UCLA Newsroom.

October 2016

Happy Halloween from the Harran laboratory!

• Dr. Hui Ding's collaborative paper was accepted in Science Translational Medicine. This work represents the culmination of a nearly 15-year effort in the Harran laboratory.

• The lab welcomes Mr. Corentin Rumo, a visiting scholar on leave from the University of Fribourg, Switzerland.

September 2016
• A wonderful trip down memory lane for the Harran group, courtesy of Professor Mark Peczuh at UConn.

August 2016

• Professor Harran wraps up another great summer with the South Central Scholars program.

July 2016
• Welcome to our incoming summer rotation students: Joseph Jaye, James McDaniel, Monica Pengshung, and Luke Sisto.

June 2016
• Jack Bracken has won the Pfizer-UCLA Dissertation Award. Congratulations, Jack!

March 2016
• Welcome to our undergraduate researchers Craig Clark and Dyana Pacas.

• Tristin and Brice's manuscript on macrocyclic pyrroloindolines has been accepted in Chemical Science.

January 2016
• The lab welcomes Dr. Takuya Fujimoto, a visiting scientist on leave from Takeda Pharmaceuticals, Japan.

• Welcome to Dr. Zhengao Feng who recently completed his Ph.D at UC Santa Barbara.

November 2015
• Professor Harran has been elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

July 2015
• Welcome to our summer rotation student, Ethan Rosser, and our CSST exchange student, Liubo Li.

June 2015
• Tristin Rose has won the Aldrich-UCLA Dissertation Award. Congratulations, Tristin!

• Brandon Sumida has won the prestigious Geissman Award for Undergraduates. We wish Brandon the best as he moves on to medical school at Cornell.